L&D and LSC women's bowls news

L&D: OUR regional 4s and triples champions, Jan Walker, Joan Lloyd, Elaine Sullivan, Judy Heness and Dot Semmler will travel to Sydney on Thursday to compete in the State Championships.

In the first round of our Minor Singles Competition Wilma Alexander defeated Betty Bandy 25-13, Denise Darnley-Naylor defeated Enid Tuckett 25-13 and Marie Odewahn defeated Helen Symes 25-15 with Joan Bourke having a bye.

Wilma will now play Denise and Marie playing Joan in the second round for a place in the finals.

Jan Walker, Shirley Tyack and Jan Carroll were the drawn winners with Jan walker winning the lucky draw and Lorraine Messner achieving a resting toucher.

We are travelling to Weethalle and West Wyalong on November 1 for a social day out.

If you are interested put your name up on the notice board. Cost $15, plus petrol.

COMING UP: L&D hosts community barefoot bowl challenges that are open for everyone to attend. Teams may have as many players as you would like and the tournament will begin on October 24 with a 6.30pm start. Register your team for just $10. and each player pays $8 each night to compete. Prizes will be awarded weekly and free barbecue is provided.

LSC: THE first round of the Major Singles was played in sunny but tricky windy conditions.

The winners for this competition were Margaret McKenzie and Lorraine McKellar.

Margaret won only after a very competitive game against her opponent who held the lead up until the middle of the game.

Lorraine, with her years of experience, played against a relative new player and had an easy win.

Continuing the competition this Wednesday Lorraine McKellar will verse Margaret McKenzie with Betty Howard as the marker and Shirley Middleton will verse Laurel Cox with Beryl Breed as the marker.

The drawn winners for the day were Lorraine McKellar and Margaret Stoll with runners up being Margaret McKenzie and Colleen Harrison.

Beryl Breed had a brilliant resting toucher.

Beryl Breed, Jennie Pike and Betty Howard travel to Coleambally today for their President’s Day.