Leeton Basketball Association junior grand final report

TOP TEAM: B Grade Girls premiers Warbah: (back) Georgia Mallamace, Holli Jones, Abby Horton, Greta Kelly, (front) Madeline Irvin, Molly Gilmour, and Jess Fealy.

TOP TEAM: B Grade Girls premiers Warbah: (back) Georgia Mallamace, Holli Jones, Abby Horton, Greta Kelly, (front) Madeline Irvin, Molly Gilmour, and Jess Fealy.

HUGE crowds witnessed some thrilling basketball at the Leeton Indoor Stadium on grand final night to put the exclamation point on an amazing spring competition in LBA Basketball. Three games were decided by one basket as the season deciders lived up to all expectations.

C Grade Boys Division 2: The opening game produced the closest game of the evening with Nathan Woods Construction causing the upset to secure the title by just one point. Representative players Cody McCallum and Cody Browne went head-to-head in an impressive match up but it was Kurt Young landed two pressure baskets late in the final quarter to give NWC the title by the narrowest possible margin.

Nathan Woods Construction 19 (Cody McCallum 9) d Leeton Tyrepower 18 (Cody Browne 10).

C Grade Girls: Kurrajong Shell continued the trend of upsets, overcoming the minor premiers C&A Plumbing to take the title. A huge second term proved decisive for Shell with Nakeita Alampi hitting 16 points for the victors while Tamika Rourke was immense for the vanquished scoring eight and producing some impressive defensive plays.

Kurrajong Shell 23 (Nakeita Alampi 16) d C&A Plumbing 16 (Tamika Rourke 8).

C Grade Boys Division 1: Leeton Hire overcame a seven-point quarter time deficit to add the grand final title to their minor premiership as the Maroons dominated the final three against Leeton Home Improvement for an 18-point victory. Jaxon Ryan hit 14 for the winners while Tallis McMillan scored 10 for the beaten Leeton Home Improvement.

Leeton Hire 40 (Jaxon Ryan 14) d Leeton Home Improvement 22 (Tallis McMillan 10).

B Grade Boys: Jay Tang produced one of the most incredible grand final performances of all time scoring all Yenda Prods’ 37 points as his team overturned a 10-point quarter time deficit to take the B Grade title by nine over AGS. AGS provided superb resistance led by Liam Horton but were unable to find a defensive answer for Tang.

Yenda Prods 37 (Jay Tang 37) d AGS 28 (Liam Horton 10).

B Grade Girls: Thinkwater came within 31 seconds of producing the biggest upset of grand final night against the undefeated Warbah. Abby Seymour scored six to have Thinkwater in line for an unlikely win, however the Blues found themselves in foul trouble late, with Madeline Irvin calmly hitting two free throws with little time left on the clock before Holli Jones extended the lead to three with a free throw to see Warbah take the title.

Warbah 17 (Abby Horton 4, Georgia Mallamace 4, Jess Fealy 4) d Thinkwater 14 (Abby Seymour 6).

A Grade Girls: Leeton Toyota have overcome a three quarter time deficit to win the A Grade title. MVP Abby Favell (15 points) hit 6 last quarter points to quell significant resistance from a White outfit led by diminutive point guard Giordan Pastro, whose 14 points took her team to the brink of victory before failing the narrowest possible margin.

Leeton Toyota 25 (Abby Favell 15) d White 24 (Giordan Pastro 14); MVP: Abby Favell.

A Grade Boys: Grand Final MVP Angus Morshel (28 points) added another take to his highlight reel as Yellow overcame a plucky Thomas Service Centre to win the A Grade Boys title by 19 points. A nine point run midway through the second term had the blacks in front but they couldn’t maintain the momentum and ended up in foul trouble in the final quarter. Seth Pearce was again serviceable for the runners-up scoring 16 points. 

Yellow 59 (Angus Morschel 28, David Campbell 20) d Thomas Service Centre 40 (Seth Pearce 16, Jack Gilbert 11); MVP: Angus Morschel.

  • C Grade Girls: MVP Nakeita Alampi, Most Consistent Sophie Scalora, Most Improved Ella Rhodes.
  • C Grade Boys: MVP Tallis McMillan, Most Consistent Blake Ryan, Most Improved Tom Allen.
  • B Grade Girls: MVP Jess Fealy, Most Consistent Annabelle Cross, Most Improved Lauren Block.
  • B Grade Boys: MVP Jay Tang, Most Consistent Jett Liu, Most Improved Tait Snaith.
  • A Grade Girls: MVP Abby Favell, Most Consistent Maddy Kennedy, Sportsmanship Portia Marks.
  • A Grade Boys: MVP Angus Morschel, Most Consistent Daniel Brennan, Sportsmanship Nicholas Puntoriero.